Author Topic: Wiremap Issues  (Read 11756 times)

avalonav

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 1
Re: Wiremap Issues
« Reply #30 on: September 13, 2018, 05:54:39 PM »
hi i am new.  just got PE.  maybe i should have read this thread first.  without proper BER and wiremap on longer cables, i have lost the major function i bought the PE for.  i bought it to test long cable runs.  Can PE get these issues resolved please?

on a about 700 foot cable i got an ok wiremap test but an error on BER test saying loopback connector not connected, when of course it was. short cables work ok.

Lexnutter

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 1
Re: Wiremap Issues
« Reply #31 on: September 14, 2018, 03:58:35 PM »
Hi,

I'm having issues with wire map too - if I connect to a switch I get various errors saying there are shorts (on ports I know are OK). I am also getting some random results (occasionally different results with the same cable) when using the wire-map connector.

Is it not possible to do a wire-map back to a switch?


glinch

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re: Wiremap Issues
« Reply #32 on: October 05, 2018, 11:42:50 AM »
Hi

I am having issues also, and it appears to be on the longer runs of cable.

Issues such as showing "Misswire" but the status of the 4 pairs is OK - when using these tested cables they work fine.

Hardware Version: 6
Firmware version: 29
App Version 2.8a

AndrewMediaTek

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 1
Re: Wiremap Issues
« Reply #33 on: October 05, 2018, 11:09:34 PM »
Brand new out of the box days ago, October 1, 2018.  Using the included, shielded patchcord or brand new patch cords it says Miswire cable lead 2 (orange/white) is open.  I have a Samsung Note 8 with latest firmware and downloaded the PE app just as the product arrived.  I didn't know this was even an issue.  Regretting my purchase now.  I need help.

glinch

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re: Wiremap Issues
« Reply #34 on: October 10, 2018, 05:16:36 PM »
Whats the process for getting this issue fixed?

marcelmah

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 7
Re: Wiremap Issues
« Reply #35 on: October 10, 2018, 05:20:10 PM »
I don't think it every will... there have been 0,000000 response on the forums or mails.

glinch

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re: Wiremap Issues
« Reply #36 on: October 11, 2018, 12:22:46 AM »
I've messaged them on facebook, will let you know if I get a result.

glinch

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re: Wiremap Issues
« Reply #37 on: October 12, 2018, 12:11:37 AM »

Daniel26

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re: Wiremap Issues
« Reply #38 on: October 16, 2018, 08:45:25 AM »
The pockethernet project seems to be dead....
Pity about the money

dinohead

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 1
Re: Wiremap Issues
« Reply #39 on: October 24, 2018, 03:29:05 PM »
Added myself to this - just got it and get the same short circuit for everything I test. Newest firmware too.


florianr

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 1
Re: Wiremap Issues
« Reply #40 on: October 28, 2018, 10:34:18 AM »
Hallo zusammen,

hier auch ein Problem beim Test Wiremap und BER mit dem Remote-Adapter.

Ich habe festgestellt, dass sich die Mess-Ergebnisse mit dem mitgelieferten Kabel oft verändern. Mit dem mitgelieferten Kabel konnte ich folgende Wiremap Ergebnisse erzielen:

- Misswire Pair 3 and 4
- Misswire Pair 3
- OK (Straight)

Der BER-Test findet bei Speed 1000 mit dem mitgelieferten Kabel meist den Loopbackadapter nicht, bei Speed 100 schon. Bei Speed 100 werden dann aber keine Fehler angezeigt. Einmal konnte ich mit dem mitgelieferten Kabel ein positives Testresultat für Wiremap und BER@1000 messen.

Mit meinen eigenen Patchkabeln habe ich dagegen immer positive Messresultate erzielt, sowohl für Wiremap, als auch BER@speed 1000. Unklar ist damit natürlich, wie zuverlässig die Messergebnisse meiner Installation damit sind ...


Daniel26

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re: Wiremap Issues
« Reply #41 on: January 10, 2019, 11:35:58 AM »
Any news here?

NiallCon

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 6
Re: Wiremap Issues
« Reply #42 on: February 24, 2019, 10:41:15 PM »
Hey guys,
I think I've worked out what the problem is (for me anyway....not sure if it's the same for everyone else).
I was experiencing similar issues. Inconsistent wiremap results with the same cable and using 2 different wiremap/loopback adapters. I tried different cables and was getting inconsistent results when I knew they were good. Not only would the wiremap function not work but when I tried the loopback sometimes the BER wouldn't work and the app would question whether the adapter was even attached.
What I did notice though is that there is a little bit of 'play'/wriggle room with the rj45 end on the cable and the port on the device. So I looked at how the pins were being matched up against the pins in the rj45 socket on the device. What I did was press down on the rj45 plug on the cable with my thumb so that I was sure the pins were pressing against each other in the port and boom!!.....no misswires or loopback functions not working properly. So it appears that the rj45 socket on the device is not holding the cable plug tight enough so you have to use your thumb to ensure that it's a tight fit. Pressing down on the cable plug so the opposite end is pushing up against the inside of the port on the device.
Not sure if there's an easy fix this or if it's just unique to my device but it works for me. I've only tried this on short cables 1-3m because that's all I have here at the moment. I will let you know if anything changes but I'm curious to know if this workaround works for anyone else?

I hope it helps someone else because it was driving me mad.

Kind Regards,
Niall

Hw Ver: 6
Firmware Ver: 29
Android OS

NiallCon

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 6
Re: Wiremap Issues
« Reply #43 on: April 02, 2019, 05:29:26 PM »
Was there any follow up to this? I see they are shipping again. Did the new firmware fix any of these problems for anyone? I haven't used the device in a while but it would be good to know what everyone (who was having these problems) thinks?

iampedro

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: Wiremap Issues
« Reply #44 on: June 14, 2019, 02:11:26 PM »
Did 3.1 fix this problem?