Pockethernet Forum

Pockethernet Hardware => Issues => Topic started by: dloeliger on August 11, 2017, 03:02:00 PM

Title: Wiremap Issues
Post by: dloeliger on August 11, 2017, 03:02:00 PM
Hello,

I'm currently having quite some issues with the wiremap fuction.
FW: 29
SW: last iOS

Maybe it's a special cable, solid core, 100m. Testing with an other wire tester, all is ok. Pockethernet: 7 an shield connected... Second cable (same product): Other tester: ok, Pockethernet: 1-2-3 bridged, or 3 borken, or all ok and 7 and shield bridged...
On short cables no problem, but here it isn't reliable at all... So are thete limitations for the wiremap function???

Daniel
Title: Re: Wiremap Issues
Post by: snowmanjax on August 14, 2017, 03:01:22 AM
dloeliger,

     Unfortunately, I am having a very similar issue to yours. My wiremap function (tried 3 different Android devices, and all of them the same error) fails on pins 1 and 8 when I try it on any cables 10m and above. I've fully updated all my devices (both their firmware, and PE app version), and even tried downgrading the PE firmware to a version before FW 26; still the same thing. I'm currently at FW 29 on my PE, and can't find any resolution.

     Hopefully a forum admin will see this thread, and be able to shed some light on what's going on. Maybe the PE doesn't like being upgraded on Windows 10, I don't have a clue.

     If you have any updates, make sure you post them here. Snowman out.
Title: Re: Wiremap Issues
Post by: jboxtel on August 14, 2017, 11:08:00 AM
Thanks for the infos. We're looking this.
Title: Re: Wiremap Issues
Post by: snowmanjax on August 14, 2017, 11:44:14 AM
jboxtel,

     Thank you for the reply!  :)  I posted this question on some other thread, but is there a way to factory default the PE, or some firmware that downgrades the PE to factory? Thank you again for all you guys do!
Title: Re: Wiremap Issues
Post by: steve on August 18, 2017, 09:00:41 AM
I noticed the same think on the short supplied patch that used to pass
Wires 1 & 8 now open
Issue persisted soft reset
Latest iOS
Fw29
Title: Re: Wiremap Issues
Post by: lanist on August 28, 2017, 11:13:25 AM
Same here on FW29 (as just arrived) and latest iOS.

It shows a break on line 8 in the supplied cable but a conventional wire tester says all is OK.

Results seem variable when checking other cables.
Title: Re: Wiremap Issues
Post by: GregL on September 02, 2017, 03:27:22 PM
HI all,
I have the same problem. I did some CAT.5 network for my client and all the cables showed miswire on all pairs. Conventional tester showed everything ok. Cables length are around 12-17. On 3m patchord everithing was ok, so  was a little confused and used conventional tester.
The other thing was that it could not get DHCP, but my laptop got it without problems.
Latest FW and iOS App.
Hope you can address that problem soon.


Title: Re: Wiremap Issues
Post by: snowmanjax on September 15, 2017, 03:00:41 AM
Moderators,

     Is there any update on this wiremap issue? I really need to use my PE again, as we're completely re-doing our network. Any and all help is appreciated. Thank you.
Title: Re: Wiremap Issues
Post by: dloeliger on October 19, 2017, 04:32:44 PM
Hello,

Do you have any news about this? For the moment PE is unusable,  since the beginning... several months..

Daniel
Title: Re: Wiremap Issues
Post by: jboxtel on December 07, 2017, 02:42:52 PM
Hi all - we've put the wiremap function to some extensive testing, but cannot reproduce this issue. The wiremap test functions well, even on cables above a 100m in our test environment. In case you are still having this issue - please drop me an email with the details of your setup. jboxtel AT pockethernet.com
Title: Re: Wiremap Issues
Post by: dloeliger on December 07, 2017, 03:15:28 PM
Hello,

So I redid some tests just to be sure.

So on cables ~100m, they all show pair 1 miswired - but with other tester they are ok...

I tested cat 7 cables with Neutrik EtherCon connectors (http://www.contrik.ch/en-ch/products/znk-ct1019067, http://www.neutrik.com/en/data/ethercon/ne8mx6-b). These are flexible cables.
I also tested some Sommercable Hybrid cables without success (http://shop.sommercable.com/en/Cables/Bulk-Cables-Hybrid/Hybridkabel-SC-Monocat-Power-212-500-0191-2.html). These are solid core cables.

These cables are all working fine at 1gbps for audio applications, so there's something weird with Pocketernet wiremap function... And BER is not working either...

I don't have standard cables to test other than length shorter than 20m (an here it works).

So...?
Title: Re: Wiremap Issues
Post by: jboxtel on December 07, 2017, 03:23:51 PM
Can you drop me an email with your original order number, also with the issues re. the BER.
Title: Re: Wiremap Issues
Post by: jmvelez on December 14, 2017, 10:26:20 PM
I have the same issue with Pocketethernet  all cables are shored.  Firmware 29
Title: Re: Wiremap Issues
Post by: jboxtel on December 15, 2017, 03:04:21 PM
Hi Jmvelez. Please provide me with more details. Jboxtel AT pockethernet.com - Please include screenshots, OS version, Firmware version and all details on your setup.
Title: Re: Wiremap Issues
Post by: darjusz on January 10, 2018, 07:43:41 PM
I've got problem with wiremap too.
I prepared ethernet cable - both side with RJ45 in standard T-568A, then i cut only orange wire - then it's ok (Pockethernet said - orange wire is open and pair number 2 is Miswire), but when i cut white-orange wire too then Pockethernet said "wire white-orange, orange, white-green, green are open" why? Green pair is connect correct.

I tried another case. I cut all pair except blue. Wiremap said "all pair are miswire"
Title: Re: Wiremap Issues
Post by: casey_jones on February 01, 2018, 10:29:53 AM
Hi, I just recieved my unit. Upgraded to V29.  Wiremap seems unreliable. Even on the short supplied cable. Sometimes ok. sometimes fails. battery was charged for 8hours at least. when wiremap fails a ber test ok and repeating the wiremap still fail (of course swap around loopback/wiremap unit).
Title: Re: Wiremap Issues
Post by: gsgx on February 04, 2018, 02:11:27 PM
I can confirm there are issues.

Tried with all wires connected besides green and green-white.  Test reports states these and also orange and orange-white are interrupted. 

Have sent a report.
Title: Re: Wiremap Issues
Post by: Daniel26 on February 05, 2018, 01:55:56 PM
I also found an issue.
With the delivered cable, 1,2 and shield is cut. Testet it again with a 1m pathc cable (cat 5), 1 and 8 are cut.
Another 1m patch cable (cat 5e) 1, 8 and shield are cut.

Al cables are also tested with an microtest TWP and are OK.

Regards

Daniel

Title: Re: Wiremap Issues
Post by: tstalzer on February 11, 2018, 12:46:37 PM
Hello @All

Unfortunately, We are having the same issues. All cables above 10m seem to be unreliable. Shorter cables are a 50% chance that they are reported o.k.

This has cost me a couple hourse of work on a client installation. After the problems on the wiremap were reported, we changed 10 keystone modules only to discover the reported errors on PocketEthernet were still there. Unfortunately, I did not have my "normal" network tester (FLuke Linkrunner) with me. After a second visit to the customer site, all cables were verified and ok with the LinkRunner....

So V29 & PocketEthernet is useless for use for wiremap testing (other features are great!)
Title: Re: Wiremap Issues
Post by: JeffB on February 15, 2018, 09:40:47 PM
FWIW,

I am on a much older unit, but v29 working great with my wiremap adapter.  The problems seem like they could be the wiremap adapter. 

See this thread for more info.

http://forum.pockethernet.com/index.php?topic=118.15
Title: Re: Wiremap Issues
Post by: dloeliger on March 16, 2018, 06:54:41 AM
That tread is about a feature request, not a problem!
Title: Re: Wiremap Issues
Post by: marcelmah on June 18, 2018, 09:44:26 AM
Just to inform... I have the same, hardware version 6 fw 29

Wiremap results are wrong and change with each test (same cable, no change).
Simple wire tester confirms cable is fine (is working fine 2).
Title: Re: Wiremap Issues
Post by: jboxtel on June 18, 2018, 11:48:04 AM
Can you provide me with more details jboxtel@pockethernet.com?
Title: Re: Wiremap Issues
Post by: marcelmah on June 19, 2018, 09:54:42 AM
Can you provide me with more details jboxtel@pockethernet.com?
Just sent you an E-mail.

So everyone is up-to-date, this was the E-mail:
Quote
Hi,

Per request: https://forum.pockethernet.com/index.php?topic=235.msg1399#msg1399

I created two video's, both using the same cable, but in the second video I had help with holding the camera :)

The cable is working fine at gigabit speeds and the cheap cable tester reports no errors (note that it is an unshielded cable). The first video shows a miswire on one cable (ignoring the shield), the funny thing is the second video shows a miswire on 5 cables. Putting them back in the cheap cable tester and everything reports fine again.

Sometimes I even get different results when I retest it in PocketEthernet, not this time though.

https://youtu.be/fLlsEr5LzbE
https://youtu.be/thdRlQYja7g

I hope this can be solved (via firmware)!
Title: Re: Wiremap Issues
Post by: marcelmah on June 29, 2018, 09:21:21 AM
Any news on this?
Title: Re: Wiremap Issues
Post by: marcelmah on July 18, 2018, 02:18:26 PM
Still no news?
Title: Re: Wiremap Issues
Post by: WrightClick on August 08, 2018, 12:57:49 PM
I've just bought a Pockethernet and initially it looked like a great bit of kit. However, I've had to use it on a job (music festival, 75m and 100m CAT5 runs from stage to mixing desk) to diagnose an issue and the wiremap test does not work on long cables. It seems I'm not the only person to be having this problem.

The initial issue was that pin 3 was sometimes showing as disconnected on a 100m run of TourCat shielded cable. Having re-terminated both ends of that, it was still showing the same fault intermittently. A simple tester shows that it's fine.

I've just had time to do some more tests on another cable which I know is 100% perfect. It's Syntax brand braid and foil screened CAT5 (tough jacket for outdoor / touring use. When I test the 50m reel of it, it's telling me that the shield is connected to pin 2, which is completely wrong.

If I add another 20m length of the same cable to this, it sometimes shows pin 3 as disconnected and it's also showing that the shield is connected to pin 2 - both of which are incorrect.

It won't do a 1Gbps loopback BER test with the full 70m. It fails saying that the loopback plug is disconnected.

If I do a wiremap test with the short cable supplied with the unit, all connections are showing as correctly connected.

I've tried this on v29 and v30 (beta) firmware and get the same results.

What is going on?

The unit is useless as it stands and I will be requesting a return for a full refund, as it is not fit for purpose.
Title: Re: Wiremap Issues
Post by: marcelmah on August 24, 2018, 09:26:18 AM
Any news on this? it's awfully quiet...
Title: Re: Wiremap Issues
Post by: dloeliger on August 27, 2018, 09:11:45 AM
No news since topic opening. V30 doesn't change problem...
Title: Re: Wiremap Issues
Post by: Machtl on August 27, 2018, 11:21:15 PM
We are having the same issue as Wrightclick! Just bought the device.

Measuring a Touring CAT cable of 50m shows ok results. Any longer cable shows a Shield to Pin2 connection, thats wrong! Also the BER Testing is not working.  >:(

Thats the most to functions why we bought the Pockethernet. So, what can we do about this issue?

With this bug the unit is not usable for us!
Title: Re: Wiremap Issues
Post by: avalonav on September 13, 2018, 05:54:39 PM
hi i am new.  just got PE.  maybe i should have read this thread first.  without proper BER and wiremap on longer cables, i have lost the major function i bought the PE for.  i bought it to test long cable runs.  Can PE get these issues resolved please?

on a about 700 foot cable i got an ok wiremap test but an error on BER test saying loopback connector not connected, when of course it was. short cables work ok.
Title: Re: Wiremap Issues
Post by: Lexnutter on September 14, 2018, 03:58:35 PM
Hi,

I'm having issues with wire map too - if I connect to a switch I get various errors saying there are shorts (on ports I know are OK). I am also getting some random results (occasionally different results with the same cable) when using the wire-map connector.

Is it not possible to do a wire-map back to a switch?

Title: Re: Wiremap Issues
Post by: glinch on October 05, 2018, 11:42:50 AM
Hi

I am having issues also, and it appears to be on the longer runs of cable.

Issues such as showing "Misswire" but the status of the 4 pairs is OK - when using these tested cables they work fine.

Hardware Version: 6
Firmware version: 29
App Version 2.8a
Title: Re: Wiremap Issues
Post by: AndrewMediaTek on October 05, 2018, 11:09:34 PM
Brand new out of the box days ago, October 1, 2018.  Using the included, shielded patchcord or brand new patch cords it says Miswire cable lead 2 (orange/white) is open.  I have a Samsung Note 8 with latest firmware and downloaded the PE app just as the product arrived.  I didn't know this was even an issue.  Regretting my purchase now.  I need help.
Title: Re: Wiremap Issues
Post by: glinch on October 10, 2018, 05:16:36 PM
Whats the process for getting this issue fixed?
Title: Re: Wiremap Issues
Post by: marcelmah on October 10, 2018, 05:20:10 PM
I don't think it every will... there have been 0,000000 response on the forums or mails.
Title: Re: Wiremap Issues
Post by: glinch on October 11, 2018, 12:22:46 AM
I've messaged them on facebook, will let you know if I get a result.
Title: Re: Wiremap Issues
Post by: glinch on October 12, 2018, 12:11:37 AM
Is the warranty 2 years on this device?

as per:

https://europa.eu/youreurope/citizens/consumers/shopping/guarantees-returns/germany/index_en.htm
 (https://europa.eu/youreurope/citizens/consumers/shopping/guarantees-returns/germany/index_en.htm)
Title: Re: Wiremap Issues
Post by: Daniel26 on October 16, 2018, 08:45:25 AM
The pockethernet project seems to be dead....
Pity about the money
Title: Re: Wiremap Issues
Post by: dinohead on October 24, 2018, 03:29:05 PM
Added myself to this - just got it and get the same short circuit for everything I test. Newest firmware too.

Title: Re: Wiremap Issues
Post by: florianr on October 28, 2018, 10:34:18 AM
Hallo zusammen,

hier auch ein Problem beim Test Wiremap und BER mit dem Remote-Adapter.

Ich habe festgestellt, dass sich die Mess-Ergebnisse mit dem mitgelieferten Kabel oft verändern. Mit dem mitgelieferten Kabel konnte ich folgende Wiremap Ergebnisse erzielen:

- Misswire Pair 3 and 4
- Misswire Pair 3
- OK (Straight)

Der BER-Test findet bei Speed 1000 mit dem mitgelieferten Kabel meist den Loopbackadapter nicht, bei Speed 100 schon. Bei Speed 100 werden dann aber keine Fehler angezeigt. Einmal konnte ich mit dem mitgelieferten Kabel ein positives Testresultat für Wiremap und BER@1000 messen.

Mit meinen eigenen Patchkabeln habe ich dagegen immer positive Messresultate erzielt, sowohl für Wiremap, als auch BER@speed 1000. Unklar ist damit natürlich, wie zuverlässig die Messergebnisse meiner Installation damit sind ...

Title: Re: Wiremap Issues
Post by: Daniel26 on January 10, 2019, 11:35:58 AM
Any news here?
Title: Re: Wiremap Issues
Post by: NiallCon on February 24, 2019, 10:41:15 PM
Hey guys,
I think I've worked out what the problem is (for me anyway....not sure if it's the same for everyone else).
I was experiencing similar issues. Inconsistent wiremap results with the same cable and using 2 different wiremap/loopback adapters. I tried different cables and was getting inconsistent results when I knew they were good. Not only would the wiremap function not work but when I tried the loopback sometimes the BER wouldn't work and the app would question whether the adapter was even attached.
What I did notice though is that there is a little bit of 'play'/wriggle room with the rj45 end on the cable and the port on the device. So I looked at how the pins were being matched up against the pins in the rj45 socket on the device. What I did was press down on the rj45 plug on the cable with my thumb so that I was sure the pins were pressing against each other in the port and boom!!.....no misswires or loopback functions not working properly. So it appears that the rj45 socket on the device is not holding the cable plug tight enough so you have to use your thumb to ensure that it's a tight fit. Pressing down on the cable plug so the opposite end is pushing up against the inside of the port on the device.
Not sure if there's an easy fix this or if it's just unique to my device but it works for me. I've only tried this on short cables 1-3m because that's all I have here at the moment. I will let you know if anything changes but I'm curious to know if this workaround works for anyone else?

I hope it helps someone else because it was driving me mad.

Kind Regards,
Niall

Hw Ver: 6
Firmware Ver: 29
Android OS
Title: Re: Wiremap Issues
Post by: NiallCon on April 02, 2019, 05:29:26 PM
Was there any follow up to this? I see they are shipping again. Did the new firmware fix any of these problems for anyone? I haven't used the device in a while but it would be good to know what everyone (who was having these problems) thinks?
Title: Re: Wiremap Issues
Post by: iampedro on June 14, 2019, 02:11:26 PM
Did 3.1 fix this problem?