Author Topic: BER measures  (Read 511 times)

dloeliger

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 12
BER measures
« on: August 10, 2017, 02:13:45 PM »
Hi,

I've having some trouble measuring BER at 1Gbps. I can wire test the cable positively (all pairs + shield ok), test BER at 10 and 100Mbps, but at 1Gbps Pockethernet tells me the Loopback adapter isn't attached...!
So are there any reasons? or how to test cables at 1Gbps?
I seems to happen with be longer cables 50-100m, but it's maybe just  a coincidence.

Daniel

jboxtel

  • Administrator
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 134
Re: BER measures
« Reply #1 on: August 10, 2017, 02:47:10 PM »
What firmware are you on? Did you update the app to it's most recent version? (New android version has been released a few hours ago)

dloeliger

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 12
Re: BER measures
« Reply #2 on: August 10, 2017, 02:56:10 PM »
Firmware version 29
App version 2.7a

I wrote the message before updating the App, but with the new version it's the same behaviour.

dloeliger

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 12
Re: BER measures
« Reply #3 on: August 10, 2017, 03:11:57 PM »
I made new tests:
75m cable not working
50m cable ok, 70m (50+20) cable not ok

terotec

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re: BER measures
« Reply #4 on: September 02, 2017, 07:53:48 PM »
I got similar results, but as I was looking at a number of differing cable lengths of cheap cat5 cable also an intermediate report around a critical length where the error rate started and increased in line with cable length. From my observations I suspect when ther errors reach 100% the tester has not seen a valid signal, thus reports that it cannot see the loopback tester.

FYI using latest v29 firmware.
« Last Edit: September 06, 2017, 09:10:32 PM by terotec »

dloeliger

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 12
Re: BER measures
« Reply #5 on: September 04, 2017, 08:33:46 AM »
This happens with functional cables, so it's more near 0% error than 100% errors...

daveboydmoss

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 1
Re: BER measures
« Reply #6 on: September 05, 2017, 09:32:21 PM »
I get a similar fault. BER tests on the short cable supplied work fine at 10 and 100 M but at 1G I simply get errors thrown and a message telling me the link was broken. This is since the upgrade to v29. Also The link test using the supplied cable direct into a 1G port also tells me that the link is not 1G capable. It seems to me that the 1G side of the device is bust since the upgrade. All worked fine prior to the upgrade to v29.

jboxtel

  • Administrator
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 134
Re: BER measures
« Reply #7 on: September 07, 2017, 11:51:55 AM »
Thanks for all the input. We're looking into this.

jboxtel

  • Administrator
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 134
Re: BER measures
« Reply #8 on: September 07, 2017, 02:26:01 PM »
@terotec
You are right. When the error rate would be near or above 100%, the tester won't even recognize the loopback adapter, thats why it report that it's missing.

@daveboydmoss
To rule out there's a hardware problem. Can you downgrade to v28 and test if it works again then?

@dloeliger
what are the results for cables shorter than 50m? also, what kind of cables are these?

dloeliger

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 12
Re: BER measures
« Reply #9 on: September 08, 2017, 10:22:40 AM »
Hello jboxtel,

For cables shorter than 50m results are fine (no errors at 1Gbps). I tested classical patch cords (cat 5e and 6a) and heavy duty cables (cat 5e and cat 7) successfully. I could not test single core cables as I din't have a short on for testing purpose.

dloeliger

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 12
Re: BER measures
« Reply #10 on: September 12, 2017, 02:20:26 PM »
I could also test 30m solid core cables successfully.

dloeliger

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 12
Re: BER measures
« Reply #11 on: October 19, 2017, 04:33:15 PM »
Any news?

sklim1

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Re: BER measures
« Reply #12 on: October 24, 2017, 08:45:57 PM »
Sorry got an OT question.  Can you configure the length of time for BER test?