Author Topic: VLAN outbound tag  (Read 1110 times)

babelmonk

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 7
VLAN outbound tag
« on: January 09, 2017, 08:52:00 PM »
It appears that the outbound VLAN setting doesn't impact the DHCP test - firmware v22.

Is this a known issue?

jboxtel

  • Administrator
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 130
Re: VLAN outbound tag
« Reply #1 on: January 10, 2017, 11:42:08 AM »
Hi. No, we're not aware of such an issue, the VLAN setting should affect the DHCP requests. I'll do a quick test in the afternoon to see if I can recreate the problem.

JonP

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 1
Re: VLAN outbound tag
« Reply #2 on: January 25, 2017, 04:23:22 PM »
I'm also seeing this - after setting the  VLAN tag to our VOIP VLAN, the Pocketethernet still gets a DHCP address on the untagged VLAN.

jboxtel

  • Administrator
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 130
Re: VLAN outbound tag
« Reply #3 on: January 26, 2017, 10:17:31 AM »
Thanks for reporting it. It's indeed a bug, there will be a fix included in the next release.

Nachtzug

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 6
Re: VLAN outbound tag
« Reply #4 on: May 03, 2017, 02:32:36 PM »
In the current version 26 with a HPE OfficeConnect Switch 1820 48G J9981A the DHCP request does not work if you set the outgoing VLAN tag.

jboxtel

  • Administrator
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 130
Re: VLAN outbound tag
« Reply #5 on: June 08, 2017, 04:11:00 PM »
Updating to firmware v28 should solve this issue

brianjpock

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re: VLAN outbound tag
« Reply #6 on: June 09, 2017, 03:09:51 AM »
Just upgraded to 28 - still doesn't work! I really need this function - this was the main reason for buying your device! I did also upgrade the app to V2.5.

« Last Edit: June 12, 2017, 02:27:41 PM by brianjpock »

brianjpock

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re: VLAN outbound tag
« Reply #7 on: June 12, 2017, 02:27:06 PM »
Ok, just tested it on a customer site - doesn't work! It gets DHCP from the default VLAN just fine, but if I put a VLAN in the outgoing VLAN tag, I get nothing. I have confirmed the port is tagged and that DHCP is functioning on that VLAN.

jboxtel

  • Administrator
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 130
Re: VLAN outbound tag
« Reply #8 on: June 12, 2017, 05:48:50 PM »
Hi Brian. Can you write me an email with the exact setup? Jboxtel AT pockethernet.com

jboxtel

  • Administrator
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 130
Re: VLAN outbound tag
« Reply #9 on: June 15, 2017, 02:11:46 PM »

JeffB

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 71
Re: VLAN outbound tag
« Reply #10 on: June 16, 2017, 01:41:06 AM »
I had this problem with v28 as well.  v29 seems to have fixed it and now the outgoing VLAN tag properly selects the correct VLAN as verified by the DHCP address received. Thanks.

brianjpock

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re: VLAN outbound tag
« Reply #11 on: June 20, 2017, 10:55:19 PM »
I had this problem with v28 as well.  v29 seems to have fixed it and now the outgoing VLAN tag properly selects the correct VLAN as verified by the DHCP address received. Thanks.

Jeffb, did you also upgrade your app? Are you using iOS or Android?

Thanks!

Nachtzug

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 6
Re: VLAN outbound tag
« Reply #12 on: June 22, 2017, 12:21:32 PM »
In the current version 26 with a HPE OfficeConnect Switch 1820 48G J9981A the DHCP request does not work if you set the outgoing VLAN tag.

now, with Version v29 under Andriod with the latest App it works.

Thankyou

brianjpock

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re: VLAN outbound tag
« Reply #13 on: June 22, 2017, 08:09:48 PM »
Well, I had downgraded mine back to V28 so I could use it. I was at a customer site and decided to try the upgrade to V29 again (on a different PC) and it now works! I tried it again on my switch at home and it works there as well! Very odd, but I am grateful that the VLAN tagging now works! Thank you for fixing that!

Brian

JeffB

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 71
Re: VLAN outbound tag
« Reply #14 on: June 23, 2017, 07:36:58 PM »
brianjpock: I upgraded both the app and the firmware.  I'm still having issues with the BER tests now on v29, but everything else seems to be working well including outbound VLAN tag which selects the correct network for testing.   But the Giagabit BER tests on v29 do work, so that's enough functionality to stay with v29.