Author Topic: Link test max 100Mbit  (Read 70 times)

Trippin

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 1
Link test max 100Mbit
« on: November 06, 2017, 04:23:16 PM »
Hallo,

Wanneer ik een link test doe met de terminator (kabel in loopback kant) dan krijg ik een maximale snelheid te zien van 100 Mbit. Hierbij gebruik ik de bijgeleverde cat6 kabel of andere cat6a kabels.
Wanneer ik de pocketethernet aansluit op een switch krijg ik wel de 1000Mbit te zien. Klopt dat?

eits

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 48
Re: Link test max 100Mbit
« Reply #1 on: November 06, 2017, 08:22:46 PM »
 :o
hint: try it in english  8)

BjornR1989

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 7
  • Powered by ethernet
    • Homepage
Re: Link test max 100Mbit
« Reply #2 on: November 07, 2017, 03:16:38 PM »
If i'm not mistaking, one of the developers has a dutch name so may be able to comprehend what's written even though it's not English.
OP is asking why his app shows 100Mbit when using a known-good cable between the Pockethernet device and the terminator (loopback side) whilst connecting the cable to a switch makes the app show 1000 Mbit speed.

First things first, make sure the cable is making good contact, although i'm quite sure you've checked and checked twice.
I'm not sure whether the loopback terminator advertizes itself as a gigE-capable device, but a switch will.
Quote
This test determines if an ethernet link can be established, what the highest achievable speed is. The result is shown in the summary line: 10 / 100 / 1000 Mbit, Full Duplex / Half Duplex, MDI / MDI-X.
On gigabit links, additional information is shown: The delay skew of each pair (maximum allowed per IEEE specification is 45ns) and the polarity of each wire pair, which helps detecting any wiring errors.

From another topic: http://forum.pockethernet.com/index.php?topic=263.0
Quote
Is the Remote Terminator *only* used for for Wiremap and BER tests?
> yes
Thus not for the link test.

Note: i have the app but haven't got a Pockethernet device yet.

UPDATE 9-nov-2017: Using the same method, mine shows "100 Mbit FD MDI" as well. This is correct because the Pockethernet device lopback dongle performs all data tests using 100Mbit links.
Nothing is wrong with your Pockethernet device, dongle or cable.
« Last Edit: November 09, 2017, 07:13:27 PM by BjornR1989 »
I brake... For lanparties!
... Also: can't apply avatar settings on this forum.

JP

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 20
Re: Link test max 100Mbit
« Reply #3 on: November 08, 2017, 06:05:42 AM »
Loopback for gigabit (all 4 pairs) is different than loopback for 10/100 (2 pairs) or for T-1 lines (2 pairs)

I'll try to reverse engineer the wire map/loopback adapter that came with my Pockethernet and see which kind it really is.  At first guess, I bet it's only a 10/100 loopback adapter.

More info here: https://community.spiceworks.com/topic/99206-loopback-jack-for-gigabit-switch