Pockethernet Forum

Pockethernet Hardware => Issues => Topic started by: dloeliger on August 11, 2017, 03:02:00 PM

Title: Wiremap Issues
Post by: dloeliger on August 11, 2017, 03:02:00 PM

I'm currently having quite some issues with the wiremap fuction.
FW: 29
SW: last iOS

Maybe it's a special cable, solid core, 100m. Testing with an other wire tester, all is ok. Pockethernet: 7 an shield connected... Second cable (same product): Other tester: ok, Pockethernet: 1-2-3 bridged, or 3 borken, or all ok and 7 and shield bridged...
On short cables no problem, but here it isn't reliable at all... So are thete limitations for the wiremap function???

Title: Re: Wiremap Issues
Post by: snowmanjax on August 14, 2017, 03:01:22 AM

     Unfortunately, I am having a very similar issue to yours. My wiremap function (tried 3 different Android devices, and all of them the same error) fails on pins 1 and 8 when I try it on any cables 10m and above. I've fully updated all my devices (both their firmware, and PE app version), and even tried downgrading the PE firmware to a version before FW 26; still the same thing. I'm currently at FW 29 on my PE, and can't find any resolution.

     Hopefully a forum admin will see this thread, and be able to shed some light on what's going on. Maybe the PE doesn't like being upgraded on Windows 10, I don't have a clue.

     If you have any updates, make sure you post them here. Snowman out.
Title: Re: Wiremap Issues
Post by: jboxtel on August 14, 2017, 11:08:00 AM
Thanks for the infos. We're looking this.
Title: Re: Wiremap Issues
Post by: snowmanjax on August 14, 2017, 11:44:14 AM

     Thank you for the reply!  :)  I posted this question on some other thread, but is there a way to factory default the PE, or some firmware that downgrades the PE to factory? Thank you again for all you guys do!
Title: Re: Wiremap Issues
Post by: steve on August 18, 2017, 09:00:41 AM
I noticed the same think on the short supplied patch that used to pass
Wires 1 & 8 now open
Issue persisted soft reset
Latest iOS
Title: Re: Wiremap Issues
Post by: lanist on August 28, 2017, 11:13:25 AM
Same here on FW29 (as just arrived) and latest iOS.

It shows a break on line 8 in the supplied cable but a conventional wire tester says all is OK.

Results seem variable when checking other cables.
Title: Re: Wiremap Issues
Post by: GregL on September 02, 2017, 03:27:22 PM
HI all,
I have the same problem. I did some CAT.5 network for my client and all the cables showed miswire on all pairs. Conventional tester showed everything ok. Cables length are around 12-17. On 3m patchord everithing was ok, so  was a little confused and used conventional tester.
The other thing was that it could not get DHCP, but my laptop got it without problems.
Latest FW and iOS App.
Hope you can address that problem soon.

Title: Re: Wiremap Issues
Post by: snowmanjax on September 15, 2017, 03:00:41 AM

     Is there any update on this wiremap issue? I really need to use my PE again, as we're completely re-doing our network. Any and all help is appreciated. Thank you.
Title: Re: Wiremap Issues
Post by: dloeliger on October 19, 2017, 04:32:44 PM

Do you have any news about this? For the moment PE is unusable,  since the beginning... several months..

Title: Re: Wiremap Issues
Post by: jboxtel on December 07, 2017, 02:42:52 PM
Hi all - we've put the wiremap function to some extensive testing, but cannot reproduce this issue. The wiremap test functions well, even on cables above a 100m in our test environment. In case you are still having this issue - please drop me an email with the details of your setup. jboxtel AT pockethernet.com
Title: Re: Wiremap Issues
Post by: dloeliger on December 07, 2017, 03:15:28 PM

So I redid some tests just to be sure.

So on cables ~100m, they all show pair 1 miswired - but with other tester they are ok...

I tested cat 7 cables with Neutrik EtherCon connectors (http://www.contrik.ch/en-ch/products/znk-ct1019067, http://www.neutrik.com/en/data/ethercon/ne8mx6-b). These are flexible cables.
I also tested some Sommercable Hybrid cables without success (http://shop.sommercable.com/en/Cables/Bulk-Cables-Hybrid/Hybridkabel-SC-Monocat-Power-212-500-0191-2.html). These are solid core cables.

These cables are all working fine at 1gbps for audio applications, so there's something weird with Pocketernet wiremap function... And BER is not working either...

I don't have standard cables to test other than length shorter than 20m (an here it works).

Title: Re: Wiremap Issues
Post by: jboxtel on December 07, 2017, 03:23:51 PM
Can you drop me an email with your original order number, also with the issues re. the BER.
Title: Re: Wiremap Issues
Post by: jmvelez on December 14, 2017, 10:26:20 PM
I have the same issue with Pocketethernet  all cables are shored.  Firmware 29
Title: Re: Wiremap Issues
Post by: jboxtel on December 15, 2017, 03:04:21 PM
Hi Jmvelez. Please provide me with more details. Jboxtel AT pockethernet.com - Please include screenshots, OS version, Firmware version and all details on your setup.
Title: Re: Wiremap Issues
Post by: darjusz on January 10, 2018, 07:43:41 PM
I've got problem with wiremap too.
I prepared ethernet cable - both side with RJ45 in standard T-568A, then i cut only orange wire - then it's ok (Pockethernet said - orange wire is open and pair number 2 is Miswire), but when i cut white-orange wire too then Pockethernet said "wire white-orange, orange, white-green, green are open" why? Green pair is connect correct.

I tried another case. I cut all pair except blue. Wiremap said "all pair are miswire"
Title: Re: Wiremap Issues
Post by: casey_jones on February 01, 2018, 10:29:53 AM
Hi, I just recieved my unit. Upgraded to V29.  Wiremap seems unreliable. Even on the short supplied cable. Sometimes ok. sometimes fails. battery was charged for 8hours at least. when wiremap fails a ber test ok and repeating the wiremap still fail (of course swap around loopback/wiremap unit).
Title: Re: Wiremap Issues
Post by: gsgx on February 04, 2018, 02:11:27 PM
I can confirm there are issues.

Tried with all wires connected besides green and green-white.  Test reports states these and also orange and orange-white are interrupted. 

Have sent a report.
Title: Re: Wiremap Issues
Post by: Daniel26 on February 05, 2018, 01:55:56 PM
I also found an issue.
With the delivered cable, 1,2 and shield is cut. Testet it again with a 1m pathc cable (cat 5), 1 and 8 are cut.
Another 1m patch cable (cat 5e) 1, 8 and shield are cut.

Al cables are also tested with an microtest TWP and are OK.



Title: Re: Wiremap Issues
Post by: tstalzer on February 11, 2018, 12:46:37 PM
Hello @All

Unfortunately, We are having the same issues. All cables above 10m seem to be unreliable. Shorter cables are a 50% chance that they are reported o.k.

This has cost me a couple hourse of work on a client installation. After the problems on the wiremap were reported, we changed 10 keystone modules only to discover the reported errors on PocketEthernet were still there. Unfortunately, I did not have my "normal" network tester (FLuke Linkrunner) with me. After a second visit to the customer site, all cables were verified and ok with the LinkRunner....

So V29 & PocketEthernet is useless for use for wiremap testing (other features are great!)
Title: Re: Wiremap Issues
Post by: JeffB on February 15, 2018, 09:40:47 PM

I am on a much older unit, but v29 working great with my wiremap adapter.  The problems seem like they could be the wiremap adapter. 

See this thread for more info.

Title: Re: Wiremap Issues
Post by: dloeliger on March 16, 2018, 06:54:41 AM
That tread is about a feature request, not a problem!